Presenting the 92nd edition of the
All India MCC - Murugappa Gold Cup
Hockey Tournament 2018

6th September to 16th September 2018, Chennai.

Winners of the 91st All India Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey Tournament 2017

“Oil & Natural Gas Corporation”

Shining Stars of MGC

The Murugappa Group has been a proud patron of culture and sports in India. Standing testimony to this is a wide array of unique events sponsored and conducted by the Group.One of them is the prestigious All India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup. Promoting the true spirit and sheer energy associated with the game of hockey for over 6 decades, the tournament has also been home to more than one star of the sport.

Dhanraj Pillay

Participated in MGC in Dec 2002

Dhanraj is the face of Indian hockey worldwide. He was the flag-bearer of the Indian contingent at the 2002 Busan Asian Games. He also played a key role in both of India's victories over Pakistan in 2002 (Champions Trophy and Asian Games), including a great play in the Champions Trophy, where he single-handedly dodged four Pakistani defenders before passing to Prabhjyot Singh who put in the finishing touches for the winning goal.

Manpreet Singh

Participated in MGC in 2016

Manpreet Singh is a renowned field hockey player who first started off as a halfback for the Indian Men's team in 2011. He represented India at the 2012 Summer Olympics and was named Asia's Junior Player of the Year in 2014. He then went on to be a part of the Indian squad for the 2016 Summer Olympics. Manpreet Singh played for the team BPCL in the 90th edition of the Murugappa Gold Cup, held in 2016.

Experience premier hockey action and stand a chance to win a cycle and other exciting prizes.


Enablers of Progress for 6 Decades

The tournament’s history can be traced back to the beginning of the 20th Century, when the MCC conducted its first hockey tournament ‘Madras Challenge Cup’ in 1901. The Murugappa Group began its association with the tournament in 1962, when it sponsored the trophy as a mark of respect to AMM Murugappa Chettiar on his 61st birthday. The tournament took on its current form in the mid-nineties, when the MCC and Murugappa Group joined hands to conduct the first ‘MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup’. Ever since, the Group has been enabling the progress of the sport in India.

Here’s a walk through the years of this Hockey Championship and the teams that have striked their way to victory.


75th MGC- July : IHF Juniors vs Indian Airlines
The IHF Juniors took home the Murugappa Cup after beating Indian Airlines 1-0. This year also featured some of the high-flying teams, including Indian Airlines, Air India, Punjab and Sindh Bank, and Tamil Nadu XI, who all went to on to play memorable matches in the years that followed.


76th MGC- July : Indian Airlines vs Mumbai Team
The 76th Edition served as the selection trials for the Indian team for the Commonwealth Games. Indian Airlines beat Mumbai 3-0 to lift the Murugappa Gold Cup, with A.B. Subbaiahdeclared 'The Man of the Finals'.


77th MGC - July : IHF Seniors vs Mumbai XI
With an exciting win by IHF Seniors, the finals of the 77th edition saw an electric performance by Dhanraj Pillay, who also won the title of 'The Man of The Finals'.


78th MGC- August : PSB of Chandigarh vs TN XI
PSB beat Tamil Nadu XI 2-1 with a golden goal. This year also reinforced the Murugappa Group's strong commitment towards the sport, as they invited a set of students from 12 schools to watch the matches, in a move to attract youngsters to the sport.


79th MGC - August : IHF Juniors vs Railways
In a high-scoring final, IHF Juniors beat Railways 6-5 to clinch the title. SabuVarkey won the best forward title and Alex David was declared the best goalkeeper.


80th MGC- July : Indian airlines vs Karnataka XI
This year was the basis for selection of the Indian team for various international tournaments including the prestigious Azlan Shah Championship. India Airlines beat Karnataka XI in an interesting final.


81st MGC- July : IHF Juniors vs Indian Railways
The IHF Juniors won the 81st Murugappa Gold Cup by beating former champions, Indian Railways, 5-3 in a thrilling tiebreaker segment.


82nd MGC - April : - Army XI vs Tamil Nadu XI
This year's tournament saw tremendous turnout of fans with a total attendance of over 80,000 people. Army XI was crowned the winners, after beating Tamil Nadu in a 7-6 tie-breaker match.


83rd MGC - December : Bharat Petroleum vs IOC
This edition saw some of the best hockey playersin action during the 10-day championship. Winning the title of 'The Man of the Finals' was Deepak Thakur from Indian Oil Corporation.


84th MGC - October : Air India vs IOC
In the finals, Air India beat Indian Oil Corporation 6-5 with a tiebreaker. The match was also graced by the top brass of the Murugappa Group as they continued to show their commitment for the sport of hockey.


85th MGC - October : Army XI vs Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd (BPCL)
In the final played on October 11, Army XI beat Bharat Petroleum 2-1 to win the tournament. Ignace Tirke was also bestowed with the title of 'Man of the Finals', after leading his team to victory with a superb goal in the very last minute of the match.


86th MGC - July : ONGC vs IOC
The 86th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup started on a fun note with a photography contest, capturing images of the game in action and it ended with a great win by the ONGC over the Indian Oil team.


87th MGC - September: Air India vs IOC
Were declared the Joint Winners After 70 odd minutes of great hockey, 2 goals for each team and a few rounds of shootout, Air India and IOC were declared the joint winners of the MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup in 2012.


88th MGC - September : IOC vs IOB
Deepak Thakur and Prabhjyot Singh scored 3 goals each, enabling Indian Oil Corporation to beat the local favourite Indian Overseas Bank 6-4 in the finals.


89th MGC - July : IOC vs SthalSena (Army team)
Bagging the title of 'best forward' and Man of the Match, Deepak Thakur took the 89th Murugappa Gold Cup by storm, leading his team Indian Oil Corporation to a well-deserved victory over SthalSena in the finals.


90th MGC - September : Indian Railways vs IOC
Bharatiya Rail The reigning National Champions, beat defending champions Indian Oil Corporation to win the 90th Murugappa Gold Cup. Malak Singh won the title 'The Man of the Finals'.

Important Message